In France, conventional slaughter consists in stunning the animal by a mechanical, electrical or gas process in order to plunge it into a state of unconsciousness before slaughtering it with a knife through the throat. This rule was introduced by the decree of April 16, 1964, and extended to poultry and rabbits in 1970. However, there are exceptions for ritual slaughter which does not provide for stunning, in particular slaughter techniques in Islam and Judaism, to produce halal (Islam) or kosher (Judaism) meat.

Halal: definition
this term means “lawful” in Arabic, and therefore contrasts with haram, “illicit”. Halal therefore refers to practices authorized by the Islamic religion. Halal meat is the meat that can be consumed by the Muslim.

How does the halal slaughter take place? The animal, facing Mecca, is slaughtered without being dizzy and must empty its blood. The priest, an adult Muslim, pronounces a blessing during the butchering (Bismillah Allahou Akbar). In France, three mosques, those in Paris, Evry and Lyon, are approved by the Ministry of Agriculture to grant the priest’s card, valid for one year. However, there is no state control body for halal meat. Various inspection bodies, private and independent, are responsible for the inspection, but there is no “halal label”. This practice is in reality a religious ritual of self-immolation, reproducing the sacrifice of a sheep by Abraham after the angel Gabriel replaced his son Isaac or Ishmael with the animal. Witness of this ritual character, the consumption of sea fish is halal, without even having gone through a process of self-immolation.

Kosher: definition
Meat is said to be kosher when the animal has been sacrificed according to the prescriptions of the kashrut, the food code taken from the Torah, the Hebrew bible. The slaughter, called shehita, is carried out by a priest, named shohet. How does shehita work? The animal’s trachea and esophagus are sliced ​​along a precise path with a chalaf, a very sharp knife, with no notch or irregularity. The slaughtered animal is hung upside down so that it can drain its blood. Indeed, the consumption of blood (like that of the sciatic nerve) is prohibited: “only, you will not eat flesh with his soul, with his blood” (Genesis 9: 4). The slaughtered animal is then inspected to check that the shehita is in conformity with the ritual requirements. These vary according to traditions. The meat is then soaked and salted. It should be noted that Judaism prohibits the concomitant consumption of meats and dairy products. These foods must not, moreover, have been handled with the same utensils, from the spoon to the containers. The Israelite Central Consistory of France is responsible for granting cards to Jewish priests.

Credit : laculturegenerale.com https://www.laculturegenerale.com/difference-halal-casher/